Governor Asks President To Declare Four Counties Disaster Areas

Governor Pat McCrory is asking President Barack Obama to declare four counties here in Eastern Carolina federal disaster areas.

Those four are Beaufort, Chowan, Pasquotank and Perquimans counties.

Initial reports say 100 homes received either major damage or were destroyed by last Friday night's tornadoes. The state says more than 400 others suffered minor damage from the seven different twisters.

If the president declares the counties disaster areas, homeowners and business owners in those and adjacent counties could apply for federal low interest loans or grants to help rebuild.

One baby from Chowan County was killed, while 28 people were injured.


We encourage commenting on our stories to give you a chance to express your opinion. We rely upon the online community to report abuse. Repeat violators may be banned from posting comments. CLICK HERE for the guidelines for posting comments. powered by Disqus