Disaster Aid For Local Counties

More than a dozen counties in Eastern Carolina are on the governor's list to get federal disaster aid because of the Easter weekend freeze. A disaster designation is the first step toward making federal emergency credit loans available to the farmers in these counties. Fourteen counties are on the list from Eastern Carolina: Chowan, Duplin, Gates, Greene, Halifax, Hyde, Lenoir, Nash, Northampton, Onslow, Pender, Perquimans, Wayne, and Wilson. There are 33 counties oustide of area on the list.