Regional Teachers Of The Year

A teacher in Onslow County and a teacher at Edenton-Chowan schools have received this honor. They are among the eight teachers statewide from which the "teacher of the year" will be chosen.

Here's the news release from the state department of public instruction:

"Eight teachers were recently selected to represent their regions as regional Teachers of the Year and will now compete for the title of 2007-08 North Carolina Teacher of the Year. The winner will succeed the 2006-07 Teacher of the Year, Diana Beasley, a biology teacher at Hickory High School, Hickory Public Schools .

The regional teachers of the year are:

North Central Region: Sonya Kiser, North Johnston High (Johnston County Schools);
Northeast Region: James Bell, Chowan Middle (Edenton-Chowan Schools);
Northwest Region: Sherrard Pearce, Mooresville Sr. High (Mooresville Graded Schools District);
Southeast Region: Beth Howard, Dixon Elementary (Onslow County Schools);
Southwest Region: Denise Andrews, North Belmont Elementary (Gaston County Schools);
Sandhills/South Central Region: Bridget Johnson, Vass-Lakeview Elementary (Moore County Schools);
Piedmont-Triad/Central Region: Shawn Watlington, Greensboro Middle College (Guilford County Schools); and
West Region: Jerome Hughes, Asheville High (Asheville City Schools).

"These eight individuals are wonderful representatives of the quality teachers in public school classrooms across the state," State Superintendent June Atkinson said. "I congratulate them on their accomplishments and encourage them to share their insights and experiences as ambassadors for public schools."

Each of the regional teachers of the year will receive a one-time stipend of $5,000 and a trip to a national conference. They also will serve on the 2007-08 Teacher of the Year team. The 2007-08 Teacher of the Year will be announced May 1 at a dinner and awards ceremony sponsored by the North Carolina Automobile Dealers Association. The winner receives an additional $2,500, a personal automobile (thanks to the North Carolina Automobile Dealers Association), a technology package from SMARTer Kids Foundation, a trip to the National Teacher of the Year conference, and an international trip through the NC Center for International Understanding. In addition to being a full-time ambassador for education, the state Teacher of the Year also serves a two-year term as advisor to the State Board of Education.

The Public Schools of North Carolina and the North Carolina Automobile Dealers Association sponsor the North Carolina Teacher of the Year Program. For more information on the North Carolina Teacher of the Year program, please go online to or contact the NCDPI's Communications division at 919/807-3450."