Nine Planets No More!

Despite what your mom, your scout leader and your science teacher taught you, there are not nine planets, at least not anymore. Pluto was demoted Thursday. Astronomers and scientists at the International Astronomical Union meeting have been fighting about the issue all week. Thursday, they took a vote and approved the new definition of a planet. Pluto loses its celestial status because its oblong orbit overlaps with Neptune. There are now eight planets: Mercury, Venus, Earth, Mars, Jupiter, Saturn, Uranus and Neptune. Pluto is now listed under a new classification, dwarf planet.