A House bill seeks to toughen laws for sex offenders. If passed convicted sex offenders in North Carolina could face a $100 annual fee, additional registration requirements, restrictions on where they live and work and electronic surveillance. The recommendations reflect legislation being considered in several states after last year's death of Jessica Lunsford, a nine-year-old Florida girl found slain by a registered sex offender. One provision of the bill would make it a felony for a registered sex offender to live within 1000 feet of a school, daycare or public or private swimming pool. Our state has a sex offender and public protection registry. This allows you to find out if a sex offender lives near your home, and how many live in your area. For example, there are 71 people registered in Beaufort County. Craven County lists 102. Lenoir County is currently at 95, while Onslow County lists 159. Pitt County has 218 residents on the sex offender and public protection registry.
Viewers with disabilities can get assistance accessing this station's FCC Public Inspection File by contacting the station with the information listed below. Questions or concerns relating to the accessibility of the FCC's online public file system should be directed to the FCC at 888-225-5322, 888-835-5322 (TTY), or email@example.com.