ATV safety and children, that's the focus of a new campaign.
Insurance Commissioner Jim Long has announced the kickoff of a statewide ATV Safety Blitz involving Safe Kids North Carolina (SKNC), where volunteers across the state will coordinate efforts to educate parents and caregivers about North Carolina's recent ATV legislation, which introduces safety requirements for children riding all terrain vehicles.
Last December a law was passed which mandates safety precautions and size limitations for youth riders. Since 1999, nearly 200 ATV-related deaths occurred in North Carolina, with children under the age of 16 representing one third of the victims.
So what is required in that law that was passed? Children must be at least 8 years old to legally operate an ATV and they must also ride the ATV that is appropriately sized for their age. Children under 18 must be continuously supervised by an adult while riding an ATV.
No rider may carry a passenger, except on machines specifically designed to do so.
Riders must wear helmets and face protection.
ATVs may not be operated on public streets, roads or highways, except for purposes of crossing.
Effective Oct. 1, 2006, all riders born on or after Jan. 1, 1990 must posses a safety certificate indicating successful completion of an ATV safety course sponsored or approved by the ATV Safety Institute.
Noncompliance is subject to a fine of $200; however, the law does not apply to the operation of ATVs when used for farm purposes or for hunting or trapping.