Dare & Adjoining Counties To Get Disaster Help From Nor'easter

Help is on the way for homeowners and businesses who suffered losses in last month's nor'easter in four coastal counties.

Governor Beverly Perdue says the U.S. Small Business Administration has agreed to provide low-interest loans to eligible homeowners and businesses.

"The remnants of Hurricane Ida caused significant loss and damage to businesses and homeowners on our northern coast," said Perdue, who had requested the SBA loans. "These federally-backed loans will provide needed relief and help our people and communities recover from their losses."

More than 25 homeowners and businesses were significantly impacted by the storm. The SBA declared Dare County a disaster area as a result of the storm. Under SBA rules, homeowners and businesses in Currituck, Hyde and Tyrrell counties that also suffered losses may be eligible for assistance.

Homeowners and businesses in the impacted area can meet with SBA representatives beginning next week at Disaster Assistance Centers located at the Nags Head Town Hall, 5401 South Croatan Highway in Nags Head and the Swan Quarter Government Center, 30 Oyster Creek Road in Swan Quarter. The centers will operate Tuesday through Friday, Dec. 8-11, from 8 a.m. to 5 p.m.; Saturday, Dec. 13, 9 a.m. to 1 p.m.; and Monday to Tuesday, Dec. 14-15, 8 a.m. to 5 p.m.

Comments are posted from viewers like you and do not always reflect the views of this station.
powered by Disqus

275 E. Arlington Blvd. Greenville, NC 27858 252-439-7777
Copyright © 2002-2016 - Designed by Gray Digital Media - Powered by Clickability 78356002 - witn.com/a?a=78356002
Gray Television, Inc.