Burn Ban Lifted For Eight Counties

An open burning ban has been lifted for eight Eastern Carolina counties.

Those counties in our area are Edgecombe, Greene, Lenoir, Martin, Nash, Pitt, Wayne and Wilson counties. State officials say recent rainfall has reduced the fire danger in those counties. The burn ban remains for Beaufort, Carteret, Craven, Dare, Duplin, Hyde, Jones, Onslow, Pamlico, Tyrrell and Washington counties.

The burn ban has been in place since June 22nd an violators face $100 fines plus court costs.

You must be logged in to post comments.

Password (case sensitive):
Remember Me:

Read Comments

Comments are posted from viewers like you and do not always reflect the views of this station.
  • by NC Forest Service Location: Raleigh on Jul 14, 2011 at 08:54 AM
    The ban on open burning has been lifted in the following counties: Edgecombe, Greene, Harnett, Johnston, Lenoir, Martin, Nash, Pitt, Wayne, and Wilson as of July 12, 2011 at 8:00 a.m. The ban on opening burning remains for the following counties: Beaufort, Bladen, Brunswick, Carteret, Columbus, Craven, Dare, Duplin, Jones, New Hanover, Onslow, Pamlico, Pender, Sampson, Tyrrell, Hyde and Washington. The ban open burning also includes parts of Robeson and Cumberland counties east of Interstate 95. The open burning ban means that all burning is prohibited if it is 100 feet or more from an occupied dwelling such as a home or residence. However, many counties are imposing their own local ordinances prohibiting burning within that 100 feet so call their local fire marshal before engaging in any burning activities. Open burning includes burning leaves, branches and other plant material. In all cases, it is illegal to burn trash, lumber, tires, newspapers, plastics or other non-vegetative materials.
  • by Native Location: Grantsboro on Jul 13, 2011 at 06:42 AM
    Even with the burning ban in place you can still burn as long as it is within 100' of an occupied dwelling. This can be found in the public notice issued in June. Just don't go burning anything you aren't supposed to burn.
  • by Just asking Location: washington on Jul 12, 2011 at 02:38 PM
    What kind of trash. You can only burn things that grow on your property.
  • by WTK Location: Washington County on Jul 12, 2011 at 02:17 PM
    I have a large pile of trash I need to burn. When the burn ban is lifted, will I be able to burn it or will I need a permit?

275 E. Arlington Blvd. Greenville, NC 27858 252-439-7777
Copyright © 2002-2016 - Designed by Gray Digital Media - Powered by Clickability 125413243 - witn.com/a?a=125413243
Gray Television, Inc.