Additional Counties Given Disaster Declaration

Four North Carolina counties flooded by rains from Tropical Storm Nicole now have a disaster declaration from the Federal Emergency Management Agency.

Gov. Beverly Perdue's office announced Monday that Camden, Martin, New Hanover and Washington counties received the declaration.

Federal officials initially denied the request for the four counties on Oct. 19, saying those areas did not meet the minimal damage threshold. At Perdue's request, state emergency management officials worked with FEMA and local officials prior to submitting an appeal on Oct. 25.

The latest declaration means that residents in 14 eastern counties may now be eligible for federal financial assistance.

Comments are posted from viewers like you and do not always reflect the views of this station.
powered by Disqus

275 E. Arlington Blvd. Greenville, NC 27858 252-439-7777
Copyright © 2002-2016 - Designed by Gray Digital Media - Powered by Clickability 106486973 -
Gray Television, Inc.