Beary Merry Christmas puts on holiday artwalk in New Bern

By  | 

NEW BERN, NC (WITN) - A month-long event celebrating Christmas in one city in the east continues Friday night as their downtown area is transformed into a winter wonderland.

Beary Merry Christmas started back in November promising non-stop Christmas celebrations throughout the holiday season.

A special Holiday ArtWalk and ARTcrawl went from 5-8 p.m. on Friday.

It's a fun, casual celebration of the arts community located in downtown New Bern and it's usually held every second Friday of the month. This was a special occasion as the artwalk is holiday themed.

People were invited to come out and stroll along the sidewalks, drop into the shops and galleries, and dine at one of many fine restaurants or taverns on the way, all while taking in and appreciating New Bern's art scene.

Beary Merry Christmas is made possible every year by a partnership between the New Bern Area Chamber of Commerce, Swiss Bear Downtown Development Corporation, the city of New Bern, local businesses and volunteers.

You can find out more event details below.

Previous Story

New Bern's month-long 'Beary Merry Christmas' celebration is underway this holiday season with Santa, sledding and something for the entire family.

Beary Merry kicked off the day after Thanksgiving and runs through Christmas Eve.

Santa can be found in Bear Plaza on Middle Street on Friday's, Saturday's and Sunday's. Here's Santa's schedule:

Friday, Dec. 8: 4pm-8pm
Saturday, Dec. 9: 10am-3pm, 4pm-9pm
Sunday, Dec. 10: 12pm-6pm

Friday, Dec. 15: 4pm-8pm
Saturday, Dec. 16: 10am-3pm, 4pm-9pm
Sunday, Dec. 17: 12pm-6pm

Wednesday, Dec. 20: 4pm-8pm
Thursday, Dec. 21: 4pm-8pm
Friday, Dec. 22: 12pm-4pm, 5pm-9pm
Saturday, Dec. 23: 10am-3pm, 4pm-9pm
Sunday, Dec. 24: 10am-2pm

Other Beary Merry events include Candlelight Tours at Tryon Palace, New Bern's Gingerbread House Contest & Display, the Holiday Artwalk & Artcrawl, Live Window Displays, A Christmas Carol Musical, Snow & Sledding at Bear Plaza and much more.

You can find the full schedule of events at